CARRIER GUIDANCE TO MY FELLOW FRIENDS WITH DISABILITIES

Rabecca Harawa is a 24-years-old girl who happened to have a disability (epilepsy), am a holder of Bachelor of Social sciences majoring in Development studies which I obtained in 2019. Currently am based in Blantyre close to Manja Primary School.I did my primary school at Mponda primary school (Zomba) and I was selected to study at Malosa secondary School but my parents decided to study at Phwezi Girls secondary school. while I reached form 2 that is when I started suffering from epilepsy that was in 2010, I started suffering from epilepsy due to headache and loss of blood. I made the decision to drop out from school because of the challenges that I faced for instance; my concentration was very low in my studies, my fellow students would laugh at me, I lost hope, stress and anxiety, I had no confidence about myself hence I thought thus the end of my life but my parents really encouraged me to work hard as well as taking the drugs, by the grace of God I passed my exams Junior Certificate of Education (JCE). I continued with my studies and wrote Malawi School Certificate of Education (MSCE) I managed to make it. In 2015 I was selected to study at University of Livingstonia and I got my degree in 2019 and now am working but I hope one day I will have a chance to study for masters. I wrote this story just to encourage people with disabilities, to explore and to plan for future carriers’ activities based on their human interests, skills and values. Participation in carrier guidance enhances linkage of an academic and carrier experiences thus improves carrier preparation and management. This story creates a positive altitudes changes to people with disabilities so that they should not underrate themselves they can achieve their goalsThe story is relevant in the sense that people with disabilities they should an ability to make decisions. Due to lack of opportunities to participate in decision making to form a perception of oneself as a student and to test self-competences can be an outcome of limited early experiences and can impede carrier development All in all, my fellow friends who happen to have any disability don’t lose hope you have power to do whatever you require in your life, don’t underrate yourself you can make it. It is also the duty for everyone in the country to make sure that people with disabilities have an access to education, where ever there is need they should be able to provide support.#CommitToChange#GDS_2022 #IYV #UNICEF

Leave a comment